Return to Campus

Visit our FAQ website for the latest information about health and safety.

Back to Top

Criminology and Justice Professor Ronal Serpas Selected Member of National Criminal Justice Organization

By Loyola University on Mon, 06/15/2020 - 17:58

(June 15, 2020) Loyola University New Orleans Professor of Practice of Criminology and Justice Ronal Serpas has been elected a founding member of the Council on Criminal Justice (CCJ), a national invitational membership organization and think tank.

Independent and nonpartisan, CCJ advances understanding of the criminal justice policy choices facing the nation and builds consensus for solutions that enhance safety and justice for all. Through research, policy development, and other projects that harness the experience and vision of its leaders and members, CCJ serves as a catalyst for system improvements based on facts, evidence, and fundamental principles of justice.

Council membership recognizes the accomplishments of established criminal justice and public policy leaders and develops a strong, diverse cohort of emerging leaders equipped to steer the criminal justice field through future challenges. Members include professionals in law enforcement, courts and corrections; state, local and federal policy makers; advocates and researchers; leaders in business, faith, and philanthropy; directly impacted people and victims of crime, and others.

The Council’s advisory Board of Trustees is co-chaired by former U.S. Deputy Attorney General Sally Yates and Mark Holden of Koch Industries, and includes U.S. Sen. Mike Lee of Utah, former California Gov. Jerry Brown, former Philadelphia Mayor Michael Nutter, and Van Jones of CNN. The governing Board of Directors is chaired by Laurie O. Robinson, who twice served as Assistant Attorney General in charge of the Justice Department’s Office of Justice Programs. The Council was founded by its president and chief executive officer, Adam Gelb, a former journalist, U.S. Senate Judiciary Committee staffer, and director of public safety initiatives at The Pew Charitable Trusts.

Inaugural members were nominated by Directors and Trustees, vetted by a Membership Committee composed of Directors and Trustees, and elected by the Board of Directors. Members are selected based on criteria that include practical impact, intellectual achievement, dedication to research-based policymaking, standing among peers, promise of future service to the field, and potential for contributing to CCJ’s work.

To ensure the independence of its work, the Council does not apply for government grants or contracts, and does not provide technical assistance or lobby.