Back to Top

Lynn Vogel Koplitz

Professor Emeritus, Chemistry and Biochemistry


Ph.D., Princeton University, 1986

M.A., Princeton University, 1983

B.S., Muhlenberg College, 1981


  • College of Arts and Sciences
  • Chemistry


Lynn Vogel Koplitz has been a faulty member at Loyola since 1988.  In 2008, she was named the Earl and Gertrude Vicknair Distinguished Professor of Chemistry.  She received the university's highest honor for faculty, the Dux Academcius Award for excellence in teaching, scholarship and community service, in 2006.  From 2004 until 2006, she served as the fourth Director of the University Honors Program.  She shared the distinction of Honors Professor of the Year with Dr. Robert Gnuse in 2005 and was chosen to receive the University Senate Community Service Award that same year.  In 2007, 2009, and 2013 Koplitz was honored with a Marquette Faculty Fellowship.  She was chairperson of the Department of Chemistry from 2013-2016.

Areas of Expertise

  • Physical Chemistry
  • Inorganic Chemistry
  • Environmental Chemistry


“Two red salts derived from yellow 4-cyano-1-methyl iodide: 1,1',1"-trimethyl-4,4',4"-(1,3,5-triazin-2,4,6-triyl)tripyridinium trisiodide and 4-cyano-1-methyl triiodide,” Vu. D. Nguyen*, Cameron A. McCormick*, Francesca A. Vaccaro*, Clifton J. Stephenson, Kevin E. Riley, Joel T. Mague, Lynn V. Koplitz, ACCEPTED Polyhedron 2/23/2016 (INVITED). doi:10.1016/j.poly.2016.02.032

“Crystal structure of 2-cyano-1-methylpyridinium bromide,” Vu Nguyen*, Cameron A. McCormick*, Robert A. Pascal, Jr., Joel T. Mague , Lynn V. Koplitz, Acta Crystallographica, E71, o854 (2015).

“Crystal structure of 2-cyano-N-methylpyridinium tetrafluororate,” Francesca A. Vaccaro*, Lynn V. Koplitz, Joel T. Mague, Acta Crystallographica, E71, o697 (2015).

“3-Cyano-N-methylpyridinium perchlorate,” Cameron A. McCormick*, Vu Nguyen*, Lynn V. Koplitz, Joel T. Mague, Acta Crystallographica, E70, o811 (2014).

“2-Cyano-1-methylpyridinium nitrate,” Lynn V. Koplitz, Joel T. Mague, Michael N. Kammer*, Cameron A. McCormick*, Heather E. Renfro*, David J. Vumbaco*, Acta Crystallographica, E68, o1653 (2012).