Awards 2010-2011

We congratulate our Student Media staff for earning the following honors during the 2010-2011 academic year:

Press Club of New Orleans 

The annual Press Club of New Orleans awards banquet encourages and rewards excellence in the print and broadcast media, as well as public relations. Maroon staff members earned a total of eight awards from the Press Club of New Orleans for their work during the 2009-2010 academic year. 

  • Alex Fournet
    The Ashton Phelps Sr. Memorial Award for Editorial Writing, The Maroon 
    1st Place, Best Editorial, The Maroon 
  • Precious Esie, Sam Winstrom and Craig Malveaux
    3rd Place, Best Continuing Coverage, The Maroon
  • Precious Esie
    3rd Place, Best Community News, The Maroon

National SPJ Mark of Excellence Awards 

National Mark of Excellence Award winners are chosen from the first-place category winners in each of SPJ’s 12 regions, and the awards are judged by professionals with at least three years of journalism experience.

  • The Maroon 
    Top 3, National Finalist Non-Daily Student Newspaper

SPJ Mark of Excellence Awards

Annually, the Society of Professional Journalists presents the Mark of Excellence Awards, honoring the best in student journalism. Maroon and Wolf staff members earned three Mark of Excellence Awards for their work during the 2009-2010 academic year. 

  • The Maroon 
    1st Place, Best Non-Daily Student Newspaper
  • The Wolf Staff 
    3rd Place, Best Student Magazine 
  • The Maroon Staff
    2nd Place, Best Editorial Writing
  • Precious Esie
    3rd Place, Best In-Depth Reporting, The Maroon 

Associated Collegiate Press 

  • Jean-Paul Arguello
    Honorable Mention, Story of the Year, The Maroon

Louisiana Press Association

  • Precious Esie
    3rd Place, Best News Story, The Maroon 
  • Jean-Paul Arguello
    Honorable Mention, Best News Story, The Maroon

Southeast Journalism Conference

The Southeast Journalism Conference is a vibrant learning community of journalists honing their craft through professional development and the Best of the South Collegiate Journalism Competition. The conference honored four students for their work during the 2009-2010 academic year. 

  • The Wolf
    4th Place, Best College Magazine
  • Elle Maloney
    8th Place, Best Press Photographer, The Maroon
  • Kaitlin Riley
    3rd Place, Best Magazine Page Layout Designer, The Maroon 
  • Angela Hernandez
    5th Place, Best Magazine Writer , The Maroon

Associated Press Managing Editors Association

The Maroon Staff 
3rd Place, General Excellence