November 20, 1998

The Maroon wins national award

The Maroon won the Pacemaker award at the national convention of the Associated Collegiate Press and College Media Advisers.

The Pacemaker, given annually by the Associated Collegiate Press and the Newspaper Association of America Foundation, is considered by many the equivalent of a Pulitzer Prize for college newspapers. The national award recognized the paper for outstanding achievements during the 1997 ­ 98 academic year.

This is The Maroon’s third Pacemaker award, having received it in 1983 and 1986. The Maroon also is a member of the Associated Collegiate Press’s national Hall of Fame for consistently receiving an All-American rating in national competitions.

Led by Neal Falgoust, the 1997­98 editorial board included Sarah Barnett, Autumn Cafiero, Michael Giusti, Larry Graham, Pierce Presley, Joseph Ruli, Tommy Santora, Sarah Sparks, Elizabeth Stuart, Stephen Stuart, and Allison Templet. Nearly 40 other writers, photographers, and artists also worked on the staff.