Welcome to the Loyola University Newsroom

Print this page

Loyola Institute for Ministry, Salt+Light Television Announce ‘Sisterhood’

Loyola press release - June 2, 2017

Funded by a grant from the Conrad N. Hilton Foundation, this seven-part video series spotlights seven communities of women religious and their work in the U.S. Africa, and Asia.

The Loyola Institute for Ministry, in association with Salt+Light Television, is pleased to announce “Sisterhood,” an inspiring and visually stunning seven-part series about communities of Catholic women religious (women who have taken vows within the church) whose members have been studying with the Loyola Institute for Ministry as part of Communicating Charism.

These stunning videos were funded through a $900,000 grant awarded in December 2014 to the Loyola Institute of Ministry by the Conrad N. Hilton Foundation. Communicating Charism is a leadership and social media grant founded on the belief that communication is fundamental to the Christian faith. God communicated His very self in Jesus, continues to communicate through the work of the Holy Spirit, and invites the faithful to share in the divine task of communicating God’s word in the church and world today.

The videos, designed to publicize the ministries of seven communities in the U.S., Africa, and Asia, make their world premieres beginning on Pentecost, this Sunday, June 4. The videos were produced and will be broadcast by Salt+Light TV of Canada, an important Catholic television network, which airs on cable in Canada and elsewhere, is available on Roku, and broadcasts around the world online. Salt+Light is transitioning to an HD signal and will use the videos to kick off the transition.

“These videos represent the culmination of two years of study and collaboration with Catholic sisters from around the world,” said Thomas Ryan, Ph.D., director of the Loyola Institute for Ministry and the director of the project. “They communicate beautifully the transformative work of Catholic sisters in the world today.”

The world premieres of the videos will take place on seven Sundays at 8 p.m. Eastern Time / 7 p.m. Central Time. During the week of the premiere, videos repeat Monday at 12 a.m. EST (Sunday at 11 p.m. CST) and 12 p.m. EST/11 a.m. CST, Thursday at 8:30 p.m. EST/7:30 p.m. CST, and Friday at 12:30 a.m. EST (Thursday at 11:30 p.m. CST) and 1 p.m. EST/12 p.m. CST.

A trailer of an upcoming video will be released at the beginning of each week. The first community to appear is the Congregation of St. Joseph, a religious community of more than 500 vowed Catholic women and 500 lay associates who live and minister in the in the U.S. and around the world. In addition to sponsoring more than 30 ministries, the congregation leads social justice and peace initiatives designed to support the poor and vulnerable and seek systemic change.

The premieres are free, open to the public, and available here.

Below is the schedule of which participating communities will be featured:

June 4 Congregation of St. Joseph

June 11 Religious of the Sacred Heart of Jesus, Uganda/Kenya Province

June 18 Congregation of Our Lady of Mount Carmel

June 25 Congregation of the Sisters of Our Lady of Kilimanjaro

July 2 Sisters of the Holy Family

July 9 Sisters of the Sacred Heart of Jesus, Benin City, Nigeria

July 16 Daughters of Our Lady of the Holy Rosary of Chí Hòa

Learn about the Loyola Institute for Ministry.