Welcome to the Loyola University Newsroom

Print this page

Mass communication students walk away with recent awards

Loyola press release - March 11, 2015

Loyola University New Orleans' tradition of producing outstanding School of Mass Communication students continues as several student journalists and campus publications recently received awards from the 2015 Southeast Journalism Conference Best of the South competition. In addition, a trio of Loyola advertising students received Addy Awards from the Ad Club of New Orleans.

Loyola’s student-run newspaper, The Maroon, was ranked the second best college newspaper in the SEJC collegiate journalism competition, held annually among more than 45 colleges and universities in Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Louisiana, Mississippi and Tennessee. The Maroon Online website was ranked as the fourth best college website. The Wolf magazine was ranked seventh among college magazines, and the Maroon Minute was ranked as the seventh best college video news program.

Individual first place award winners were Melanie Potter, best magazine writer; Emily Andras ‘14, best newspaper page designer; and Katherine Richard, best news editorial artist. Other winners were Shannon Donaldson ‘14, best magazine layout designer (fourth place); Zach Brien, best press photographer (fourth place); Karla Rosas, best opinion/editorial writer (fourth place); and Mark Robinson, best sports writer (fifth place). Andras also won for best news graphic designer (seventh place).

"The students’ dedication and drive shines through everything they produce, and apparently the judges agree," said Michael Giusti '00, M.B.A. '12, senior media adviser of Loyola Student Media. "Winning competitive regional awards is important for the students’ resumes, it is important for their career development, and the exposure it brings is important for the university.”

The Ad Club of New Orleans held its 105th annual awards presentation on Feb. 27 in New Orleans, where three Loyola students were honored for their creative work. Carolina Abrahams won a gold award for a self promotional CD she created for her layout and design class, Graham Blackall won a silver award and Gabriela Caceres won a silver award in the student promotions competition, also for a self promotional CD she created for class.

vizyonkolik film izle türkçe instagram takipçi hilesi www.arsivsistemleri.com.tr agario kral fm dinle nişantaşı escort escort bologna esenyurt escort bayan agario play bahis siteleri a99.io agario unblocked agario agario agario mutlu son masaj Tipobet beylikdüzü escort