qwe Loyola shines at local PRSA awards ceremony - Loyola University New Orleans

Welcome to the Loyola University Newsroom

Print this page

Loyola shines at local PRSA awards ceremony

Loyola press release - November 11, 2013

School of Mass Communication students at Loyola University New Orleans who developed a national award-winning anti-bullying campaign also took home local top honors last week from the New Orleans Chapter of the Public Relations Society of America at its annual awards ceremony.

The Loyola Bateman team’s “Step Up, Reach Out!” campaign to stop childhood bullying was chosen in May by PRSA’s student group as the winner among 68 entries from colleges and universities nationwide, and last week, it was chosen again by the New Orleans PRSA chapter for one of its coveted Silver Anvil Awards. The Bateman team is comprised of Loyola senior Leah Whitlock and 2013 graduates Dwayne Fontenette, Haley Humiston, Charlie LaRock and Vannia Zelaya.

“I never get tired of our students being recognized for their excellent work,” said Cathy Rogers, Ph.D., Bateman team adviser and the Shawn M. Donnelley professor for non-profit communications at Loyola. “It reminds me of how grateful I am for our network of alumni and especially to our School of Mass Communication faculty who contribute enormously to our students' success.”

Loyola staffers and alumni also shined at the awards ceremony. Mikel Pak, Loyola’s associate director of public affairs, won an Award of Merit for her press release on psychology professor Charles Corprew’s sexual assault research. James Shields, Loyola communications coordinator, won an Award of Merit for his press release about a lethal violence symposium featuring local and national experts.

Alumna Katherine Staiano ’03 won an Award of Excellence for her work as Ochsner Hospital’s digital marketing supervisor, and alumnae Christine Albert '99 and Angelique Dyer ’03 took home two Awards of Excellence for their campaigns featuring Touro Infirmary. Albert is Touro’s associate vice president of marketing and development and the president of PRSA New Orleans and Dyer is Touro’s public relations and graphics specialist. Additionally, alumna Cheryn Robles '01 won the PRSA Preeminent Plate Spinner award. Robles is the community outreach specialist for the Department of Public Works at New Orleans City Hall and past-president of PRSA New Orleans.