qwe Loyola dominates at the New Orleans Press Club Awards - Loyola University New Orleans

Welcome to the Loyola University Newsroom

Print this page

Loyola dominates at the New Orleans Press Club Awards

Loyola press release - July 25, 2011

Members of the Loyola University New Orleans community were kept busy at the New Orleans Press Club 53rd Annual Excellence in Journalism Awards banquet July 16 at Harrah’s Casino. Loyola students, faculty, staff and alumni took home more than 20 awards.

Former editor of The Maroon and recent graduate Alex Fournet ’11 took home the prestigious Ashton Phelps Sr. Memorial Award for Editorial Writing for his piece, “Men need to step up and take responsibility/sexual assault too prevalent.”

Several alumni took home first place honors. Danny Monteverde ’08 and Ramon Antonio Vargas ’09, both reporters for the Times-Picayune, won first place in the Breaking News and General News categories, respectively. Bobby Brennan ’83 and WVUE took the top spot for Best Television Newscast, Les East ’82 won two firsts for Print Sports Deadline and Print Sports Column, Fletcher Mackel ’98 won two for Television Planned Event and Television Sports Deadline Story, and Trevor Cassidy ’10 won first place for Television Infographics.

Loyola University Director of Public Affairs and External Relations Meredith Hartley received two first place awards in the Public Relations Press Kit and Public Relations Print Newsletter categories for agencies/departments of six or more employees.

“Loyola has always been known for producing excellent communicators and skilled reporters. We know that when they leave here, they will have what it takes to be the best in the business,” said School of Mass Communication Director Sonya Duhé, Ph.D. “We are extremely proud of our students, staff and alumni for the work they do and congratulate them for being recognized for their outstanding efforts.”

Loyola alumni and students completely swept the Print Community News category with Vargas taking top honors, Monteverde winning second and The Maroon’s Precious Esie taking third for her article, “Loyola College of Law students volunteer services to taxpayers.” Mass Communication Professor Emeritus Larry Lorenz, Ph.D., won third place in the Television Public Affairs category for his show, “Informed Sources.”

Other student winners include last year’s editor for The Maroon, Sam Winstrom, and reporter Craig Malveaux. Other alumni winners include Katie Urbaszweski ’11, Jessica Williams ’11, Autumn Giusti ’00, Sofia Voulgarakis ’03, Jim Penniston ’82, Travers Mackel ’98, and Diane Mack ’78.