Welcome to the Loyola University Newsroom

Print this page

"The Maroon" staff honored by Press Club in prestigious awards competition

Loyola press release - July 18, 2007

(New Orleans)--Reporters and editors of The Maroon, in competition against the cityĺs professional journalists, took first place in two categories at the Press Club of New Orleansĺ annual Excellence in Journalism Awards Ceremony, Saturday night, July 14. They also took three second places, a third, and two honorable mentions.

Incoming Maroon editor Ramon Vargas and Nicole Mundy took first in the deadline sports category with their story, ôTulane Wins the Battle of Freret Street 2-0. Vargas also took second place with ôGloryland.ö It was a sweep in that category for him, since no third place award was given.

Michael Nissman swept the sports column category. Columns he wrote were awarded first and second places.

Second place for breaking news coverage for the internet went to last yearĺs editor, Daniel Monteverde, Tara Templeton and Lizzie Ford-Madrid, for their online story on the disputed SGA elections, ôPresident-elect Disqualified.ö

Nissman and Vargas took third place in headline writing for ôDuo Shows Killer Instincts.ö

Nissman and Steve Kashishian were given honorable mention in the photo story category for ôCity Rejoices after Year-long Delay.ö

Honorable mention for layout and design went to Catherine Cotton for The Maroonĺs Life and Times section.

agario ni┼čanta┼č─▒ escort escort bologna esenyurt escort bayan agario play maltepe ikinci el e┼čya T├╝rk├že altyaz─▒l─▒ porno bahis siteleri a99.io agario unblocked agario agario agario Tipobet