qwe Journalism, PR, Ad students win awards - Loyola University New Orleans

Welcome to the Loyola University Newsroom

Print this page

Journalism, PR, Ad students win awards

Loyola press release - April 19, 2007

(New Orleans)— Several Loyola University New Orleans students and student organizations have been honored recently.

The student newspaper, the Maroon, took home the third place general excellence award, as well as several individual staff members winning awards ranging from first third place and an honorable mention, from the annual Louisiana Press Association Better Newspaper Competition on Saturday, April 14, 2007 and several awards from the Society of Professional Journalists- Region 12 Mark of Excellence Awards at the University of Arkansas in Fayetteville, AK on March 31, 2007.

This year’s Public Relations Student Society of America (PRSSA) Bateman team placed in the top 10 in the nation and earned an honorable mention for their campaign for Family Caregiving 101.

And the Advertising Team placed 3rd in district competition Friday, April 13, 2007. The team also won a special judges award entitled, "Outstanding Creative Innovation."

Maroon honored at Louisiana Press Association Better Newspaper Competition

At the Louisiana Press Association Better Newspaper Competition, the Maroon took home the third place general excellence award. First place awards were presented to Loyola mass communication sophomore Ramon Vargas in the category “Best Sports Story or Sports Feature” for his article, "Ties that Bind," and to finance senior Chris Senac in the “Staff Generated - Color Over 1/2 Page” for his "Funky Butt" ad.

Economic arts and sciences senior Faheem Iqbal took home a second place award for “Staff Generated - Black and White 1/2 Page or Under” for his "Mona's Cafe ad."

Senac also took home another award a third place award for his "Pit Stop" ad in the “Staff Generated Color Over 1/2 Page.”

Mass communication sophomore Lauren LaBorde's column, "I am not Chris Rose," took the third place award for “Best Column.”

Mass communication freshman Nicole Mundy was awarded an honorable mention in the category “Best Sports Story or Sports Feature” for her article, "Killer Instincts."

Louisiana Press Association's (LPA) mission is to unite Louisiana newspapers as a cooperative association which creates and fosters an economic, political, and legal environment where newspapers can compete and flourish as providers of information and information services. The LPA is the official trade organization for Louisiana newspapers and provides representation in the legislature and educational services.

Maroon honored at Society of Professional Journalists- Region 12 Mark of Excellence Awards

Collegiate journalists submitted more than 3,300 entries in 39 categories across the Society of Professional Journalism’s regions for the Society of Professional Journalists- Region 12 Mark of Excellence Awards. First place regional winners will advance to the national round of judging, which takes place in early April. Winners will be announced in mid-May.

Mass communication junior Daniel Monteverde won “Breaking News Reporting” for “’Pathways’ Unveiled” and first place in “Online News Reporting” for “’Pathways’ Protested.”

Kelly Brown and Jared Bailey, A ‘06, won second place in “Feature Writing” for “Washed Away.”

Ramon Vargas won second place for “Sports Writing” for “Ties that bind” and Nicole Mundy won third place for “Sports Writing” for “Killer Instincts.” Ramon Vargas and Nicole Mundy jointly won first place for “Online Sports Reporting” for “Tulane vs. Loyola.”

Additionally, mass communication sophomore Catherine Cotton and mass communication junior Michael Nissman jointly won second place for “Two or More Pages Photo Layout” from the Columbia Scholastic Press Association. The award was given at Columbia University in New York City.

The Mark of Excellence Awards from the Society of Professional Journalists (SPJ) honor the best in student journalism. The SPJ is the nation’s most broad-based journalism organization, dedicated to encouraging the free practice of journalism and stimulating high standards of ethical behavior.

Bateman team places in national top ten

Bateman team director and mass communication senior Cristy Rivera, psychology senior Lyse Jackson, mass communication juniors Andre Breaux and Stephen Brown, and marketing junior Katherine Hebert made up the presenting team. The team is lead by Dr. Cathy Rogers, associate professor of the school of mass communication.

The Loyola PRSSA Bateman team competes each spring in the Bateman Case Study Competition, the PRSSA annual case competition. It is the premier public relations competition in the country, in which Loyola consistently places as one of the top teams in the nation. Over the past eight years, the Loyola University New Orleans team has placed in the finals every year and won the national championship three times. They have won a top-three ranking in the nation for the past seven years. This year, the competition's cause was FamilyCaregiving101.org, a starting place for family caregivers and adults caring for ill or aging family members to find help. The team's objectives for this year's campaign was to raise awareness of family caregiver issues in the Greater New Orleans area and drive more traffic to the Family Caregiving 101 website.

“Congratulations to Professor Rogers and the Bateman team,” said Dr. Walter Harris, Jr., provost and vice president for academic affairs. “They are continuing their long and distinguished record of successful competition. It is a true credit to their talent and leadership and a credit to the university.”

The competition was established by the Public Relations Society of America (PRSA) in 1973 to allow members of PRSA an opportunity to exercise the analytical skills and mature judgment required for public relations problem-solving. Past case studies have dealt with nuclear energy, the American Heart Association, a nonprofit community-centered family counseling service provider, the Campaign for Tobacco-Free Kids, and most recently Ford Motor Credit Company.

Ad Team places third in district competition

The five members of the 14-member advertising team presented at the competition, mass communication seniors Mollie Partesotti and Jeremy Claud, and mass communication juniors Michael Miller, Ted Makarewicz, and Anna Toujas. This year’s team was led by Robbie Vitrano, part-time instructor and 1985 Loyola arts and sciences alum. Vitrano is also the creative director at Trumpet Advertising, the company that contributed to creating the "Forever New Orleans” advertising and marketing campaign designed to bring visitors back to New Orleans.

The Advertising Team competes each spring in the National Student Advertising Competition sponsored by the American Advertising Federation. Selected students work on a real-world campaign for a national company. Past sponsors have included Toyota, Pizza Hut, Hallmark, VISA, and other nationally recognizable companies. As part of the project, students develop a comprehensive campaign for the client including research, creative ideas, and media recommendations. In addition to preparing a professional plans book, they travel to compete at the district competition in April. Loyola’s district includes Alabama, Mississippi, Louisiana, Georgia, and Tennessee. In the past 10 years, Loyola University New Orleans has won the District competition on average every other year.

For more information, please contact the Office of Public Affairs at (504) 861-5888.

Loyola University New Orleans is a Jesuit-Catholic institution with a total student enrollment of 4,724 including 800 law students.