qwe Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony at Loyola - Loyola University New Orleans

Welcome to the Loyola University Newsroom

Print this page

Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony at Loyola

Loyola press release - January 29, 2007

(New Orleans)—Loyola University New Orleans will honor former members of their athletic program at the university’s Hall of Fame induction ceremony on Saturday, February 10, 2007. The Loyola Hall of Fame honors those collegiate athletes who made outstanding contributions to their sport.

Hall of Fame events begin on Saturday, February 10, 2007 with the Loyola men’s and women’s basketball games. Loyola’s women’s team competes against Xavier University at 3 p.m. and the men’s basketball team plays Xavier at 5 p.m.

The Hall of Fame reception honoring the inductees begins at 7 p.m. in the St. Charles Room in the Danna Center. This year’s honorees are: Mr. Harold Chauvin, for track; Ms. Jennifer Leier, B’99, for volleyball; Mr. Ewell “Bill” Smith, P’25, for football; Mr. Scott Thompson, A’96, for basketball; and Mr. Fred “Fritz” Westenberger, B’57, L’57, for track.

This year’s recipient of the St. Sebastian award is Mr. Russell Cresson, B’49. This award is presented to the person who has given continuous support and dedication to the athletic program of the university.

All activities are held at Loyola’s main campus at 6363 St. Charles Avenue. Tickets for admission to the Hall of Fame games, induction ceremony and reception are $30 per person.

The Hall of Fame was created in 1964 and reinstated in 1993 with the return of intercollegiate athletics to Loyola’s campus.

For more information and reservations, contact the Office of Alumni and Parent Relations at (504) 861-5454 or (800) 798-ALUM.

Loyola University New Orleans is a Jesuit-Catholic institution with a total student enrollment of 4,724 including 800 law students.