qwe Loyola President and Law Professor Named to Ethics Board - Loyola University New Orleans

Welcome to the Loyola University Newsroom

Print this page

Loyola President and Law Professor Named to Ethics Board

Loyola press release - January 22, 2007



Ethics Review Board Ready for Action

Loyola President and Law Professor Are Among Board Members

NEW ORLEANS, LA—On December 21, 2006, Mayor C. Ray Nagin and members of the City Council announced the appointment of the seven members of the Ethics Review Board. The event will take place in the Mayor's Press Room on the second floor of City Hall.

As mandated by the city’s Home Rule Charter, the board will establish recommendations for the Code of Ethics and consult with the City Council regularly. Members of the Ethics Review Board will oversee the appointment of the Inspector General, a position approved by the City Council in November.

Additionally, the Board will have the power to disseminate rules regarding the interpretation and enforcement of the Code of Ethics. Moreover, it may refer cases for investigation on referral or complaint, retain counsel, and impose fines.

“The appointment of the members of the Ethics Review Board is an important step in the right direction for New Orleans,” said Mayor Nagin. “This board will re-enforce this administration’s focus of a more transparent and efficient government.” The newly appointed board members include: Mrs. Leah Chase, Mrs. Kathryn Lorio, Ms. Elizabeth Nalty, Dr. Beverly Favre, Mr. Winston Brown, Reverend Kevin Wildes, S.J. and Rev. Cornelius Tilton.

Mrs. Leah Chase, otherwise referred to as the “Queen of the Creole Cuisine”, has been in the restaurant industry since the 1940s. She first began her career working at the Oriental Laundry in the French Quarter. Then she moved on to the Colonial Restaurant on Chartres Street. In 1945, she met and married musician Edgar “Dooky” Chase II, whose parents owned the Dooky Chase Restaurant. She started out as a hostess there, but later started redecorating the restaurant and working as a chef. Chase has received many awards both for her culinary genius and her community service including: the New Orleans Times Picayune 1997 Loving Cup Award and the Torch of Liberty Award. She serves on many local organizational boards like the Arts Council of New Orleans, the New Orleans Museum of Art and the Urban League.

Mrs. Kathryn Lorio is a Leon Sarpy Professor of Law at Loyola University in New Orleans. Her teaching and scholarly interests are in the areas of family law, civil law of successions and donations and the legal treatment of alternative reproductive techniques. She is active in law reform on the national level as a member of the American Law Institute, and in Louisiana as a member of the Council of the Louisiana State Law Institute. Prior to joining the Loyola law faculty, Lorio practiced law with the firm of Deutsch, Kerrigan and Stiles in New Orleans.

As the President of the Edward G. Schlieder Educational Foundation, Ms. Elizabeth Nalty oversees the foundation board. She is currently a member of the LAS Dean’s Advisory Council, the Tulane University Health Sciences Center Board of Governors and the Board of the Tulane University Hospital and Clinic. Nalty is tremendously active in the local community. She serves on the Board of the Hermann-Grima/Gallier Historic Houses, the Advisory Council of the New Orleans Museum of Art, the Board of the Ogden Museum of Southern Art, the Ochsner Board of Councilors and the Board of Directors of Pennington Biomedical Research Foundation.

Dr. Beverly Favre is the Dean of the School of Social Work at Southern University of New Orleans (SUNO). Her background in this position draws from her experience as a social worker on the West Coast and here in New Orleans. Additionally, she has acted as a visiting professor at the University of Louisiana at Monroe, the University of New Orleans, University of Kentucky, Eastern Kentucky University and Dillard University. In the past, Dr. Favre has offered consulting services to Bob Tucker and Associates and has managed the Women’s Office for the Office of the Mayor and the Student Service Program at the University of Kentucky’s Medical School.

Mr. Winston Brown is the Dean of Admissions at Xavier University. Brown has served at Xavier University for over 20 years in several capacities. He is a member of the National Association of College Admission Counseling, the American Association of College Registrars and Admission Officers, the Catholic College Admission Association and the College Board. Brown has presented at several professional conferences and received a certificate from the Harvard Institute on College Admission. As an active member of the civic community, Winston Brown serves as a member of the New Orleans City Planning Commission, the New Orleans chapter of the 100 Black Men of America and Kappa Alpha Psi Fraternity, Inc.

Reverend Kevin Wildes, S.J., is the current President of Loyola University New Orleans. With advanced degrees in theology and philosophy, Wildes was ordained a priest in 1986. Much of Reverend Wildes initial scholarly research was in the field of bioethics, which is a subject he continues to lecture on today. Wildes is member of the Boards of Loyola University Chicago, Xavier University in Cincinnati, and is the chair of the Board of the Association of Louisiana Independent Colleges and Universities. He is also a member of several other committees and councils in the New Orleans area.

Reverend Cornelius Tilton has 26 years of ministry leadership experience as a preacher, pastor and trainer in the para-church ministries in the greater New Orleans area. He is currently a pastor at the Irish Channel Christian Fellowship and the General President of the Christian Bible College of Louisiana. He has over 25 years of professional experience in business and academic administration, teaching, training, strategic planning, and human resources management. Tilton has served a business and computer consultant for Tilton Enterprises since 1984. Reverend Tilton has extensive knowledge and experience in computer programming, systems design and marketing. For over 23 years, Tilton has been an active member of the local civic community serving on such boards as the Board for Audubon Montessori Charter School, the Committee for a Better New Orleans Housing Task Force and the New Orleans Emergency Food and Shelter Board, just to name a few. Tilton has been awarded by the Louisiana State Senate, Mayoral Commendations bye the French Lion’s Club.

“I would like to thank each member for committing himself or herself to this important task at hand. I am confident that these board members will apply their years of varied experience and talents to benefit all the citizens of New Orleans. More importantly, I look forward to interacting with each member and the board as a whole as we position this city for the future,” said Mayor Nagin.