Welcome to the Loyola University Newsroom

Print this page

The Maroon takes home 2006 Pacemaker Award

Loyola press release - October 30, 2006

(New Orleans)--The Associated Collegiate Press (ACP) awarded Loyola University New Orleans student newspaper, The Maroon, the 2006 Pacemaker Award on Saturday, October 28, during ACPs national convention in St. Louis.

The Pacemaker Award is the most prestigious award in college journalism and is widely acknowledged as the Pulitzer Prize of college journalism, explains Michael Giusti, faculty adviser for The Maroon.

This was the sixth nomination for The Maroon and the fourth win for the paper. The last time The Maroon won the award was 1999. In 2000, the paper and The Maroon Online were nominated for the award.

The Maroon is the best teacher on campus for journalism students. Our professors and advisers give us the support and resources we need to make our student newspapers one of the best in the country, says Danny Monteverde, editor of The Maroon.

According the Liz Scott Monaghan, former adviser to the student newspaper, This years Pacemaker award recognizes the work of The Maroon staff who returned after Katrina in January 2006 to put out both The Maroon and The Wolf yearbook. Members of the winning editorial board are: Chuck Alexander, editor and chief; Lisa Campo, Danny Monteverde, this years editor; Lauren Bienvenu, Gene Guillot, Michael Nissman, Coleen OLear, Alethia Picciola, Catherine Colton, Kelly Brown, Tara Templeton, and Naomi King."

ACP and the Newspaper Association of America Foundation have co-sponsored the Newspaper Pacemaker competition since 1971. ACP began the awards in 1927. Judges select Pacemakers based on the following: coverage and content, quality of writing and reporting, leadership on opinion page, evidence on in-depth reporting, design, photography, art, and graphics.

For more information about the Pacemaker Award, visit www.studentpress.org

agario nişantaşı escort escort bologna esenyurt escort bayan agario play maltepe ikinci el eşya Türkçe altyazılı porno bahis siteleri a99.io agario unblocked agario agario agario Tipobet