qwe Loyola University New Orleans Presents Leadership Awards - Loyola University New Orleans

Welcome to the Loyola University Newsroom

Print this page

Loyola University New Orleans Presents Leadership Awards

Loyola press release - May 7, 1999

(New Orleans)—The Center for Student Leadership at Loyola University New Orleans held the seventeenth annual Leadership Banquet on April 28 in appreciation of the excellent leadership and service given by students and faculty to Loyola.

The keynote speaker for the banquet was Mtumishi St. Julien, a 1975 Loyola law graduate and executive director of the New Orleans Home Mortgage Authority. Over 200 student leaders and organizational advisors attended the banquet.

The Spirit of Loyola Awards were established by the Center for Student Leadership Development to recognize broad areas of achievement and leadership which contribute to the quality of life at Loyola. The following awards were presented:

Spirit of Loyola Award for International Understanding-Washington Gonzalez (Mexico City, Mexico)

Spirit of Loyola Award for Racial Understanding-Kendrick Johnson (St. Rose, La.)

Spirit of Loyola Award for Outstanding Service as an Organizational Adviser-Dr. Caroline Fisher (American Marketing Association)

Spirit of Loyola Award for Exceptional Community Leadership by an Individual-Emili Segovia (San Antonio, Texas)

Spirit of Loyola Award for Exceptional Community Service by an Organization-Black Student Union

Father James C. Carter Award for Exceptional Leadership-Joe Schott (Lafayette, La.) and Ansel Augustine (Coppell, Texas)

Alumni Association Award-Dustin Burns (Chandler, Ariz.)

Mary Ann Reising Flynn Scholarship-Toni Vinterella (Metairie, La.)

Residential Life Award-Robin DeVile (River Ridge, La.)

The Joseph A. Danna Center Award-Byron Gast (Folsom, La.)

Outstanding Greek Male Award-Eric Delgado (Gaitherburg, Md.)

Outstanding Greek Female Award-Mary Jones (Williamston, Mich.)

Intramural Male Athlete of the Year-Ryan Haas (Dallas, Texas)

Intramural Female Athlete of the Year- Amy Danielson (Sugarland, Texas)

Intramural Sportsmanship Award-Joe Schott (Lafayette, La.)

Intramural Sportsmanship Award-Jeanne Gabriele (Baton Rouge, La.)