qwe Loyola University New Orleans Names Six to Board of Trustees - Loyola University New Orleans

Welcome to the Loyola University Newsroom

Print this page

Loyola University New Orleans Names Six to Board of Trustees

Loyola press release - July 20, 1998

(New Orleans)—The Board of Trustees of Loyola University New Orleans recently named six new members who will each serve a three-year term on the board. New members are: B.A. "Red" Adams, Sr., Gerard A. "Jerry" Brechtel, Carolyn M. Callahan, Tina Santi Flaherty, Matt James Gaston, and the Rev. Bradley M. Schaeffer, S.J.

The board also re-elected the following officers at its May meeting: B. Temple Brown, Brown’s Velvet Dairy Products, Inc., president and chief executive officer, as chairman; Jerome J. Reso, Jr., vice chairman; the Rev. Bernard P. Knoth, S.J., president; the Rev. Lawrence W. Moore, S.J., secretary - treasurer; and the Rev. Robert S. Gerlich, S.J., vice president. Michael Rapier also was elected as vice president. Reso is a partner in the law firm of Baldwin and Haspel; Fr. Moore is a law professor at the university’s law school; Fr. Knoth is university president; Fr. Gerlich is an associate professor of history at the university; and Rapier is president of Michael J. Rapier Investments.

Adams is chairman of the board of Oil & Gas Rental Services, Inc., a leading supplier of rental drilling equipment in the Gulf of Mexico region headquartered in Morgan City, Louisiana. Adams’ civic, community, and religious involvement and contributions have been numerous. Currently, Adams serves on the boards of the Audubon Institute, Alton Ochsner Medical Foundation, and the National Ocean Industries Association. He has been honored as a knight by both the Equestrian Order of the Holy Sepulcher and the Knights of St. Gregory. He has been the recipient of numerous awards including the 1996 Junior Achievement of Greater New Orleans Business Hall of Fame Inductee, the 1997 Spindletop International Don Waggener/Butch Griffin Award, and the 1998 East St. Mary Area Chamber of Commerce’s Citizen Lifetime Achievement Award.

Brechtel is a partner in the accounting firm of KPMG Peat Marwick in New Orleans. In addition to his client responsibilities, Brechtel serves on KPMG’s national committee for privately held companies and the firm’s leadership committee for consumer markets. As a 1970 graduate of Loyola, Brechtel has been an active alumnus having served as the chairman of Loyola’s President Council. In 1996, he was named alumnus of the year by the Joseph A. Butt, S.J., College of Business Administration. Brechtel also is active within the New Orleans community where he has served as campaign chairman for the United Way of Greater New Orleans as well as chairman of the United Way board of directors. He is a member of the American Institute of Certified Public Accountants and the Louisiana and Mississippi Societies of CPAs.

Callahan, a native New Yorker, is assistant news editor at Star Magazine in New York. She graduated from Loyola in 1988 with a bachelor of arts in communications. Since graduation, Callahan has been an active alumna of the university having served as chair of the membership activities committee for Loyola’s New York Alumni Chapter.

Flaherty, a resident of New York and Palm Beach, is president and chief executive officer of Image Marketing International and co-author of The Savvy Woman’s Success Bible. Flaherty spent nearly 25 years at Fortune 500 companies such as Colgate

Palmolive, GTE and Grey Advertising where she worked in corporate public relations and communications. She was the first woman to be named vice-president at each of these companies. She has been on the National Board of Directors for Junior Achievement since 1978. She earned a bachelor of arts degree from Memphis State University and was awarded an honorary doctorate from Saint John’s University.

Gaston, a New Orleans resident, is owner and president of Paradigm Research Corporation which is a private investigation and insurance research firm. He earned both his bachelor of business administration and master of business administration degrees from Loyola.

Fr. Schaeffer is president of the Jesuit Conference USA located in Washington, D.C. During his 12 year career in education, he has worked as both a teacher and administrator for schools throughout the Chicago Jesuit Province. Fr. Schaeffer currently serves on the following Boards of Trustees: the Jesuit School of Theology at Berkeley, Weston Jesuit School of Theology, and Woodstock Theological Center in Washington, D.C. He earned his undergraduate degree in theology and English from the University of Detroit; a master of education degree from Boston College and a master of divinity degree from Loyola University Chicago. His educational honors include a Doctor of Humane Letters Honoris Causa from Loyola University Chicago in 1996 and Educator of the Year Award from St. Ignatius College Prep in 1989.

Based on the heritage of Catholic Jesuit higher education in Louisiana since 1849, Loyola University New Orleans was chartered in 1912. Today, the university serves approximately 5,500 undergraduate and graduate students.