Welcome to the Loyola University Newsroom

Loyola at a Glance

President Wildes joins group in opposing proposed changes to The Times-Picayune

June 15, 2012

Loyola University New Orleans President Kevin Wildes, S.J., Ph.D., recently joined a group of concerned civic and business leaders in voicing their opposition to The Times-Picayune moving to a three-day-a-week print version in addition to the current web-based nola.com product.

The group’s purpose is to ensure the continuation of the delivery of a high quality, seven-day-a-week newspaper, with access to the entire community. The group intends to open discussions with the current owners, as well as other interested parties, to achieve its purpose.

Citing the unique New Orleans regional landscape, which has steadily and successfully rebuilt itself since the devastation of Hurricane Katrina to become a beacon for economic resilience and innovation, the group is reviewing all options and opportunities to influence the current plans, as is consistent with desires of the papers’ customers and wider community.

As the daily news vehicle, The Times-Picayune has represented the Greater New Orleans community for more than 175 years, serving three critical functions: ensuring news access for all citizens, providing serious coverage that protects the public and creating a common conversation and cultural cohesion amongst all New Orleanians.

With this history and service in mind, the Citizens’ Group believes that it is important to clearly state its desire for The Times-Picayune to remain a daily newspaper, and that any possible future change be conducted in a more effective and considerate transition than what was announced to take effect beginning in September.


Times-Picayune Citizens' Group

Jay Altman
Chief Executive Officer
FirstLine Schools

Archbishop Gregory M. Aymond
Archbishop of New Orleans

John Barry

Kent Blackwell
Burtheville Association of Neighbors

Ralph Brennan

James Carville and Mary Matalin

Tod Chambers, President
Mavis Early, Executive Director
Greater New Orleans Hotel & Lodging Association

Henry Coaxum
New Orleans Business Alliance

Michael Cowan
New Orleans Crime Coalition

Scott Cowen
Tulane University

Flozell Daniels, Jr.
President & CEO
Foundation for Louisiana

Norman Francis
Xavier University of Louisiana

Ruthie Frierson
Founder & Chairman
Citizens for 1 Greater New Orleans

Melissa Gibbs, Chair
Tommy Faucheux, Vice-Chair
GNO, Inc. NextGen Council

Leon Giorgio
Jefferson Business Council

Rafael C. Goyeneche III
Metropolitan Crime Commission

Julie Graybill
Faubourg Marengo Neighborhood Association

Lucien Gunter
Executive Director
Jefferson Economic Development Corporation

Stan Harris
President & CEO
Louisiana Restaurant Association

Michael Hecht, President & CEO
Dale Benoit, Chairman
Greater New Orleans, Inc.

William H. Hines

Walter Isaacson

Tamara Jackson
Executive Director

Leslie Jacobs

Ben Johnson
President & CEO
New Orleans Chamber of Commerce

John Little
New Orleans Regional Leadership Insititue

Dr. James E. Lyons, Sr.
Interim President
Dillard University

Nancy Marsiglia

Chassity McComack
Executive Director
River Region Chamber of Commerce

Ed McGinnis
Irish Channel Neighborhood Association

Reid McLellan
Plaquemines Association of Business and Industry

Suzanne Mestayer
Business Council of New Orleans and the River Region

Anne Milling
Women of the Storm

Todd Murphy
Jefferson Chamber of Commerce

Thom Pepper
Lower 9th Ward Stakeholder Coalition

Stephen Perry
President & CEO
New Orleans Convention & Visitors Bureau

Wendell Pierce

Debby Pigman
Faubourg Delachaise Neighborhood Association

Dr. Patrick Quinlan, Chief Executive Officer
Warner Thomas, President & CEO
Ochsner Health System

Larry Rase
Executive Director
Northshore Business Council

Julia Reed

Stephen Reuther
Chief Executive Officer
St. Bernard Parish Chamber Of Commerce

Charles Rice
President & CEO
Entergy New Orleans, Inc.

Toni Rice
New Orleans Multicultural Tourism Network

Howard Rodgers
Executive Director
New Orleans Council on Aging

Nolan V. Rollins
President & CEO
Urban League of Greater New Orleans

Greg Rusovich
The Southeast Regional Coalition of Business Councils

Harry Shearer

Nick Spitzer

Mark Vicknair

Dr. Thomas R. Warner
Nunez Community College

Dr. Joe Welch
River Parishes Community College

Alyssa Wenck
Young Leadership Council

Brandy Whisnant
Junior League of New Orleans

Rev. Kevin Wildes, S.J., Ph.D.
Loyola University New Orleans

Tim Williamson
Co-Founder & CEO
The Idea Village


The Foundation for Historical Louisiana

French Quarter Citizens, Inc.

Lafayette Square Association

Louisiana Landmarks Society

Smart Growth for Louisiana

Vieux Carre Property Owners, Residents, and Associates, Inc.

Times-Picayune Loving Cup Recipients

1992 Times-Picayune Loving Cup Recipient
Diana Lewis

1995 Times-Picayune Loving Cup Recipient
Anne Milling

1997 Times-Picayune Loving Cup Recipient
Leah Chase

1999 Times-Picayune Loving Cup Recipient
Herschel L. Abbot Jr.

2000 Times-Picayune Loving Cup Recipient
Alden McDonald

2003 Times-Picayune Loving Cup Recipient
Fran Villere

2006 Times-Picayune Loving Cup Recipient
Ruthie Frierson

2007 Times-Picayune Loving Cup Recipient
Bob Brown

2008 Times-Picayune Loving Cup Recipient
R. King Milling

2009 Times-Picayune Loving Cup Recipient
Scott Cowen

2010 Times-Picayune Loving Cup Recipient
Tommy S. Cvitanovich

2011 Times-Picayune Loving Cup Recipient
William Goldring

For the latest updates about Loyola University New Orleans, follow us on Twitter @LoyolaNOLANews or become a fan on Facebook at www.facebook.com/loyno.

Loyola at a Glance is written and distributed for the faculty, staff, students and friends of Loyola University New Orleans. It is published by the Office of Public Affairs, Greenville Hall, Box 909, 7214 St. Charles Avenue, New Orleans, LA 70118. (504) 861-5888.

Information to be included in Loyola at a Glance must be received 2-3 weeks in advance of the publication date. Send us your news here.