Welcome to the Loyola University Newsroom

Loyola at a Glance

Faculty recognized and honored at convocation

January 27, 2012

Faculty Senate Award recipients: Valerie Goertzen, John Sebastian, Patricia Dorn, Alice Clark and Erin Dupuis.

Several members of the campus community received awards and recognition during the Loyola University New Orleans' Spring 2012 President's Convocation for faculty and staff on Jan. 20.

Director of the Center for Environmental Communication and School of Mass Communication professor Robert A. Thomas, Ph.D., was awarded Loyola’s top faculty honor, the 2011 Dux Academicus Award, which is awarded annually to a Loyola faculty member who has demonstrated noteworthy leadership, has exemplified outstanding teaching and scholarship, and has made significant contributions to the Loyola community.

Faculty Senate Awards were presented by professor of English Barbara C. Ewell, Ph.D., chair of the University Senate, and assistant professor of nursing Kim Brannagan, Ph.D., chair of the University Senate Awards Committee. Awards were given in four categories: community service, advising, research and teaching. Recipients were nominated by faculty members, staff or students and were selected based on their superior performances in their particular area and on the strength of the nomination letters.

Erin Dupuis, Ph.D., assistant professor of psychology, was given the Faculty Senate Award for Service for embodying the Jesuit ideal of service to others and exemplifying the university’s commitment to the local community. Dupuis was recognized for an innovative program of teaching computer skills to homeless people and providing exemplary leadership to students in a multitude of service learning projects that also help to serve disadvantaged communities.

The Faculty Senate Award for Advising was presented to Alice Clark, Ph.D., professor of music history and coordinator of music history and literature, for going beyond the call of duty to befriend and bond with students, especially those not coping well with college life. In addition to academically advising students across several programs, Clark has provided guidance and resources that transcend her role in advising and reaching the whole person, thereby enhancing her students’ academic careers and life experience at Loyola.

Patricia Dorn, Ph.D., professor and associate chair of biological sciences, received the Faculty Senate Award for Research for enhancing the university’s reputation in academe, for exemplifying the Jesuit ideal of service to others and for bolstering student experiences at Loyola. The senate recognized Dorn for her cutting-edge research involving tropical parasites and associated diseases, particularly in distressed areas of developing countries.

John Sebastian, Ph.D., associate professor of English and Valerie Goertzen, Ph.D., associate professor of music history, were each presented the Faculty Senate Award for Teaching for going beyond the requirements of their classes to provide an exciting, challenging and enriched learning environment for their students.

2012 Marquette Fellowships, which are awarded to support full-time research and/or creative work over the summer, were also announced at convocation. All fellows receive stipends to support two months of full-time work on scholarly or creative projects.

Fellows and their projects include:

  • Joy Allen, Ph.D., assistant professor of music therapy — “Guidelines for Music Therapy Practice: Medical Care of Adults”
  • Patricia Dorn, Ph.D. — “Identification of the Kissing Bugs Most Important for Chagas Disease Transmission in Central America and Southern Mexico”
  • Mark Fernandez, Ph.D., professor of history — “Hard Travelin’: Woody Guthrie and the Industrial Age”
  • Armin Kargol, Ph.D., chair and associate professor of physics — “Effect of Nanoscale Electric Fields Generated by Nanopatterned Electrodes and Magnetoelectric Nanoparticles on Voltage-gated Ion Channels”
  • Anthony Ladd, Ph.D., professor of sociology — “Environmental Controversy and Frame Disputes Over Natural Gas Fracking in Northern Louisiana”
  • Christopher Schaberg, Ph.D., assistant professor of English — “Building New Orleans: Architecture, Environment, and the Aesthetics of Recovery”
  • C.J. Stephenson, Ph.D., assistant professor of chemistry — “Formation of Rhodamine Dye Derivatives Capable of Sensing Mechanical Stress and Fatigue”
  • Catherine Wessinger, Ph.D., Rev. H. James Yamauchi, S.J. Professor of the History of Religions — “Women in Religions: Theory and Application”

The following faculty were presented with Twenty-five Year Service Awards at convocation:

  • Katherine Adams, Ph.D., chair and William and Audrey Hutchinson Professor of English
  • Nona Beisenherz, M.A., foreign and international law librarian and associate professor
  • Francis Coolidge, Ph.D., director of environment program and associate professor of philosophy
  • Barbara Fleischer, Ph.D., associate professor in the Loyola Institute for Ministry
  • Anthony Ladd, Ph.D., professor of sociology
  • Carol Leake, M.F.A., associate professor of painting and drawing
  • Constance Mui, Ph.D., Rev. Scott Youree Watson, S.J., Distinguished Professor of Arts and Sciences and professor of philosophy
  • Catherine Wessinger, Ph.D., Rev. H. James Yamauchi, S.J. Professor of the History of Religions

For more information, contact Elizabeth Kordahl at kordahl@loyno.edu.

For the latest updates about Loyola University New Orleans, follow us on Twitter @LoyolaNOLANews or become a fan on Facebook at www.facebook.com/loyno.

Loyola at a Glance is written and distributed for the faculty, staff, students and friends of Loyola University New Orleans. It is published by the Office of Public Affairs, Greenville Hall, Box 909, 7214 St. Charles Avenue, New Orleans, LA 70118. (504) 861-5888.

Information to be included in Loyola at a Glance must be received 2-3 weeks in advance of the publication date. Send us your news here.