Welcome to the Loyola University Newsroom

Loyola at a Glance

Grace King High School sweeps Silver Scribe competition hosted by SMC and Press Club

March 19, 2010

Bridget Rogers of Grace King High School in Metairie, La., won the Silver Scribe Grand Award in the annual Tom Bell Silver Scribe Competition for area high school journalists held Saturday, March 6, at Loyola University New Orleans.

“I am so thrilled,” Rogers, a senior, said. She also won first place in news writing, headline writing and critical review, third place in editorial writing and an honorable mention in feature writing. She is the editor-in-chief of Grace King’s newspaper, The Irish Eyes, which won best newspaper. Grace King won the sweepstakes award for most points amassed by students from one school.

“Bridget is an asset to the Grace King community,” said Thomas Curran, adviser to The Irish Eyes. The Irish Eyes has been recognized on the local, state and national level this year, he said. “This is due in large part to the talent and commitment of Bridget. She has set high standards for herself and has led by example.”

In addition to being editor of The Irish Eyes, Rogers is student body vice president and is Student of the Year for the high school.

More than 40 students from six New Orleans schools took part in the day-long competition which was co-sponsored by the Press Club of New Orleans and Loyola’s School of Mass Communication in the College of Social Sciences. The event is named after its founder, the late Tom Bell, a longtime Loyola journalism teacher and former Press Club president.

Winners of individual events, which were judged by professional journalists and Loyola faculty and students, were:

  • News writing: Rogers, first; Kelsey Frese, second; Alexandra Foerstner, third and Ashley Guillory, honorable mention, all Grace King High School.

  • Photography: Emily Chaplain, Grace King, first; Karley Nugent, Pope John Paul High School and Chris Glueck, Jesuit High School, both second; Allison Malkika, Lusher Charter School and Allie Philips, Mount Carmel Academy, both honorable mention.

  • Feature writing: Louis Fettet, Archbishop Shaw High School, first; Eric Haydel, Jesuit, second; Max Katner, Lusher, third. There was a tie for honorable mention with Evan Shea, Jesuit and Rogers.

  • Sports writing: Shea, first; Frese, second.

  • Editorial writing: Ian de Boisblanc, Jesuit, first; Foerstner, second; Rogers, third; Patrick Lorio, Shaw, honorable mention.

  • Column writing: Fettet, first; Shea, second; Lorio, third and Jacob Ross, Grace King, honorable mention.

  • Headline Writing: Rogers, first; Foerster, second; Shreya Kashyak, Grace King, third.

  • Layout: Jade Cooley, Lusher, first; Foerster, second; Chaplain, third and Haydel, third.

  • Critical review: Rogers, first; Caroline Kain, Lusher, second; Richard Bordelon, Jesuit, third; Guillory, Shea, honorable mention.

For more information on the Press Club, visit http://www.pressclubneworleans.org/ or follow them on Twitter @PressClubNOLA. For more information on the School of Mass Communication, visit http://css.loyno.edu/masscomm.

For the latest updates about Loyola University New Orleans, follow us on Twitter @LoyolaNOLANews or become a fan on Facebook at www.facebook.com/loyno.

Loyola at a Glance is written and distributed for the faculty, staff, students and friends of Loyola University New Orleans. It is published by the Office of Public Affairs, Greenville Hall, Box 909, 7214 St. Charles Avenue, New Orleans, LA 70118. (504) 861-5888.

Information to be included in Loyola at a Glance must be received 2-3 weeks in advance of the publication date. Send us your news here.