Dux Academicus Award

Since 1978 Loyola has recognized faculty from all colleges by choosing one annually to receive the Dux Academicus Award, the highest honor a professor can receive for excellence in teaching and scholarship. Current students, colleagues, and former students nominate the professor for the Dux Academicus and a committee of faculty, students and alumni selects the winners. The awards are presented in January during the President's Convocation. You can find portraits of current and past recipients on the third floor of Monroe Library's, Dux Academicus Corner, located near the main elevators.

Birdwhistell, who died of adrenal cancer in November 2014, was named the recipient of the 2014 Dux Academicus award - the university's top faculty award - for having achieved and sustained the highest levels of excellence as a scholar, educator, and contributor to community and professional service. His wife, Teresa Birdwhistell, Ph.D., accepted the award on her husband's behalf at the President's Convocation for Faculty and Staff on Jan. 9. 

Birdwhistell is remembered as an outstanding teacher, mentor, and colleague. All of his contributions benefited faculty, staff and students by making Loyola a great place to learn and work.>>


2013 Recipient

Constance L. Mui 
Rev. Scott Youree Watson, S.J., Distinguished Professor of Arts and Sciences, Professor of Philosophy

2012 Recipient

Patricia L. Dorn
Professor of Biological Sciences



2011 Recipient

Robert A. Thomas
Professor & Director, Center for Environmental Communication Loyola Chair in Environmental Communication


2010 Recipient

Mark F. Fernandez
Professor of History

2009 Recipient


Alfred Lawrence Lorenz
Professor Emeritus School of Mass Communication


2008 Recipient  

John P. Clark
Gregory F. Curtin, S.J., Distinguished Professor in Humane Letters and The Professions and Professor of Philosophy


View additional past recipients »
Award Guidelines  »